Department of Environment Science

The Department of Environmental Science was established in 1983. Environmental Science is a Para-professional course which brings together multifarious goals. On the one hand, the course intends to develop conscious citizens with a complete awareness of the environment. Along with such awareness comes a deep understanding of the total environment and its associated problems. The department aims to create individuals who have sound knowledge, appropriate attitude, motivation, commitment, and skill to actively participate at all levels towards the improvement of the environment and contribute to the efficient management of environmental issues.

The Department also organises programs under the Seasons Nature Club every year. Along with this a Vana Mahotsava Week is celebrated in the campus. Many distinguished guests are invited to address the students and tree saplings are given away to the participants and winners. The annual fest of the Department conducted by Seasons Nature Club is called Enviro which hosts many events connected to nature and conservation.

The Department has also produced many distinguished individuals committed to the conserving of nature. Some of the alumni are:

Distinguished Alumni of Environmental Science
1. Leo Francis Saldana, Environmental Activist, Environment Support Group (ESG), Bangalore. ESG is a non-profit trust involved in environmental and social justice initiative in the country.

2. Bhargavi S Rao, Environmental Activist, Environment Support Group (ESG), Bangalore.

3. Akshay Heblikar , Environmentalist, Center for Environment & Sustainable Development, Eco- Watch – Played a key role in implementing Urban Forestry Projects; Establishes Biodiversity Parks in and around Bangalore; Set up Tropical Gene Bank of important Species in Belgaum District

4. Chaya Chengappa, Manager, Programs and Operations at Community Environment Alliance

5. Naina, Environmental Management and Policy Research Institute (EMPRI).

6. Dr. Naveen, Assistant Professor, Occupational Health and Safety, Dr. MGR University, Tamil Nadu

7. Sujay, Faculty &Research Fellow in Asoka Trust in research in Ecology and Environment (ATREE)

8. Dr. Sunita Krishnan, Social Activist, Member of Women’s Cell, AP

9. Srinivas Ravindra, Environmentalist, Assistant Director, Center for Sustainable Development (CSD) Bangalore.

10. Udhayan.A, IFS, Mountain Ecology Specialist, SAARC Forestry Centre, Bhutan

11. Sunita Rao, DFO

12. Shashirekha, Sr. Manager – Quality, Bangalore Test House, an ISO 9001 Certified & NABL Accredited Laboratory, Bangalore.

13. Rajesh Babu, Senior Teacher , Aditi International School, Bangalore

14. Dr.Koijam Mani Bhushan, HoD, Dept. of Environmental Science, D.M. College, Manipur

15. Sukhprit Kaur, Programme Coordinator –Formal Education, Center for Environmental Education (CEE) South Bangalore

16. Sunil Jacob, Divisional Manager, Responsible Sourcing, India, Sri Lanka and South East Asia at Walmart.

17. Bineesha.P. Senior Technical Advisor, Indo-German Environment Programme (IGEP) KSPCB, Bangalore

18. Nazia, Project Coordinator, Center for Sustainable Development (CSD) Bangalore.

19. Swati Savarn, Green Peace, Bangalore.

20. Dr.Harsha Royal Joseph, ROCHA, Bangalore

Department of Environment Science

Dr. B. S. Prabhakar (HOD)
Assistant professor

View Profile

Dr. Ebenezer Wilson
Associate Professor

View Profile