Important Milestones of the institution

1882 Founded by Fathers of the French Foreign Mission, affiliated to the University of Madras as a Second Grade College
1925 Main building put up with enrollment of 350 students
1926 University of Madras granted the Institution the status of a First Grade College
1937 The French Foreign Mission transferred administration to the Jesuits
1949 Following reorganisation of the state, College was affiliated to Mysore University
1967 College is granted permanent affiliation to Bangalore University
1972 Commerce Sections and Evening College Sections separated
1982 Centenary Year visit by H. E. Dr. Neelam Sanjeeva Reddy, President of India
1982 UGC Recognition (UGC Act 1956): 2(f) status (23/12/1982)
1985 UGC Recognition (UGC Act 1956): 12(B) status (28/5/1985)
1986 First affiliated college in Karnataka to offer postgraduate courses
1998 First college in Karnataka to get a Research Centre
1999 NAAC Accreditation I Cycle: Four Star level, Score (70-75%) (09/10/1999)
2002 Karnataka State Policy of Bifurcation: separation of St. Joseph's PU College
2001 Shifted to the New Buildings, its present location at #36 Lalbagh Road
2004 Accredited by UGC as 'College with Potential for Excellence' (CPE) (03/11/2004)
2006 NAAC Accreditation II Cycle: 'A' level (Score 85.3%) (02/02/2006)
2007 Celebration of 125th Anniversary: Chief Guest Sri. Somnath Chatterjee
2009 Release of commemorative stamp by India Post (1/08/2009)
2010 UGC: Extension of Autonomous Status (2010-2011 to 2015-2016)
2012 NAAC Accreditation III Cycle: 'A' level: Score (3.73/4) (10/03/2012)
2014 Accredited by UGC as 'College for Excellence' (CE)
2014 Inauguration of the Auditorium Complex
2015 Granted status of DST-FIST College
2016 UGC: Extension of Autonomous Status (2016-2022)
2017 NAAC Accreditation IV Cycle: 'A++' level: Score (3.79/4) (30/10/2017)