News & Events

Dept of Political Science holds student seminar

The Department of Political Science (Master’s Programme), SJC organised the Third Post Graduate Student Seminar on March 15, 2017. The theme for the seminar this year was ‘State of Indian Republic 2017’. The inaugural event of the seminar was a debate competition. The topic of the debate was “Student politics is inherently good for the society” and a group of three people were for the motion and a group of three against the motion. The moderator was Prof. Dr Sujith Kumar, Dept of Political Science.

Following that were 4 parallel sessions with 16 paper presentations of students from all disciplines from the college. For the first time three students from Presidency College also presented papers. The first session in the afternoon was student paper presentations on “State and The Politics of Inclusion: A Rights Framework.” Prof. Dr Swati Bandi of the Dept of Journalism and Mass Communication chaired the session. Vishakha V. Warrier presenting her paper on “The chemistry of sovereignty and self determination in Jammu and Kashmir”. Archana Patwardhan, presented her paper on “Tehri Dam: Paradox of Developmental and Displacement”. Samyuktha Roy presented a paper on “Absence of a legal framework for refugees in India”.

The second panel was on “Labour, development and social justice in India” and was chaired by Prof. Kiran Jeevan, PRO, Dept of Social work. The presenters were Manisha Chaurasiya, Mark Sequeira, Tunir Guha Neogi, Karan Nagarkatti. The third panel was on “Gender, Ethnicity and Tolerance in present political discourse” and was chaired by Dr Susan Mary Philip, Dept of Bio-Technology. The presenters were Albina Linyu, Jacqueline Elisha Gomes, Rosy Hlimnapari and Reevan Vishwas Rego.

The last panel was on “India and it’s neighbourhood: problems and prospects” and was chaired by Dr Sanam Roohi, Dept. of Politial Science. The presenters were Simran Sidhu, Harsh Singh, Oindrila Chakrabarti and Prithvi Chandavarkar. “This is the third year that we are hosting this seminar. Every year this seminar is hosted as a platform for the Post graduate students of St Joseph’s College and other Colleges in the city to present their research work,” said Dr Priyanca Mathur Velath, P.G Coordinator, Dept. of Political Science. Vishakha. Warrier, II M.A Political science won the Best Paper Award. The second place was bagged by Tunir Guha Neogi, II M.A Economics and third place was shared between Reevan Vishwas Rego, II Mass Communication and Oindrilla Chakrabarti, III B.A, Presidency College.